Login  |  Register


Pages: 1 ... 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 ... 47

09 May 2020 - The Compact Organization

Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon

Dead Or Alive‘s 1995 album Nukleopatra is to be issued as a special double coloured vinyl pressing and it will be the first time that the album has been commercially released on vinyl in its original configuration, with original playing durations.

Nukleopatra was the band’s sixth studio album and was initially released only in Japan in 1995, although subsequently released in different versions– track listing/versions/durations/artwork – in eight other countries between 1996 and 1998.

It contains the singles ‘Rebel Rebel’ And ‘Sex Drive’. The album was not issued at all in the UK, until a re-worked version was included within the Sophisticated Boom Box MMXVI box set in 2016.

This 25th anniversary vinyl edition replicates the original Japanese version, which features longer versions ‘Nukleopatra’ And ‘Sex Drive’, along with re-recorded versions of ‘Unhappy Birthday’ and ‘Gone Too Long’, which appeared on Fan the Flame (Part 1).

This new 2LP blue vinyl pressing of Nukleopatra includes printed inner sleeves and will be released on 26 June 2020. 

Like previous DOA coloured vinyl, this is available via the SDE shop using this link.

Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon

The soundtrack to Julien Temple’s 1986 film Absolute Beginnerswhich featured memorable contributions from a number of artists including David BowieRay DaviesThe Style Council and Sade, will be reissued in July and will appear on CD in its entirety for the first time.

David Bowie’s title track (here in its full eight minute version) was an enormous hit in 1986, reaching number two in the UK of March of that year and providing the filmmakers with valuable publicity for what became a rather ill-fated project.

Producers Clive Langer and Alan Winstanley produced the album, working with not only the pop stars of the day (including Eighth Wonder and Smiley Culture) but also legendary jazz arranger Gil Evans.

The album features a number of tracks unavailable elsewhere. David Bowie contributed three numbers, none of which appeared on any of his studio albums and likewise Sade’s ‘Killer Blow’ can only be found on the soundtrack. The full version of The Style Council’s ‘Have You Ever Had It Blue’ also features and in edited form was a top 20 UK hit.

Beyond these pop tracks, Absolute Beginners includes an eight-minute Jerry Dammers jazz instrumental called ‘Riot City’, ‘Ted Ain’t Dead’ by Tenpole Tudor and plenty of instrumentals from Gil Evans including ‘Absolute Beginners (Refrain)’ which closes the album.

Back in the day, most of side four of the 2LP vinyl never made it to CD, but this 2020 reissue offers Absolute Beginners as a 2CD set and comes with a 24-page booklet which features track-by-track analysis with annotations from a few key players, such as Clive Langer, Mick Talbot etc.

Absolute Beginners will be released on 2CD and 2LP vinyl on 17 July 2020 via UMC/Virgin EMI.

Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon
Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon

New Order‘s Gillian Gilbert and Stephen Morris 1993 debut 'The Other Two & You' is reissued on CD with six extra tracks.

01. Tasty Fish 
02. The Greatest Thing 
03. Selfish 
04. Movin' On 
05. Ninth Configuration 
06. Feel This Love 
07. Spirit Level 
08. Night Voice 
09. Innocence 
10. Loved It (The New Factory) 
11. Tasty Fish (Pascal Mix 12'') 
12. Selfish (That Pop Mix) 
13. The Greatest Thing (Pascal Mix) 
14. Movin' On (Moby Mix) 
15. Tasty Fish (Almond Slice Mix) 
16. Selfish (Junior Style Dub)

Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon
Pages: 1 ... 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 ... 47


                                             Spam Control


TinyPortal © 2005-2018