Login  |  Register


Classic Singles

Classic Albums

Franz Ferdinand frontman Alex Kapranos has revealed the band's new influences.

He was speaking to ahead of the band's performance at the Royal Albert Hall in support of the Teenage Cancer Trust last night.

Kapranos said: "I've been listening to a lot of Dylan recently. I'm getting really into "Highway 61". It's so good. That's influencing more my lyrical style, than anything. I don't think we'll end up sounding like Dylan... but I just love the rhythm of his lyrics... and listening to people who are adventurous with the rhythm of their words. Bowie too... a bit of the old glam stuff, but also "Low", "Station to Station" and "Heroes" they're so radical and so adventurous and very inspirational. They were massively experimental and went to places where music had never gone before and yet it still sounded like pop music... and you could hum it straight away."

He added that the band is working with producer Rich Costey and "sitting around playing a lot of records, talking about music and things that excite us and experimenting."

Franz Ferdinand played four new tracks in their set, "Your Diary", "This Boy", "Wee Andy" and "Evil Heathen".
Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon

09 Apr 2005 - R??yksopp new album

Norwegian dance duo Röyksopp have revealed details of the follow-up to their million-selling debut album "Melody AM". Titled "The Understanding", the album will be released on June 27th and preceded by a single "Only This Moment" on June 13th.

In a statement reported by Music Week, the duo claimed that their new sound was more melodious than their past work. In full, this read: "This is definitely a sound which for us is more looking towards the future, than being as reminiscent of the past as our last album was. We always feel we have to move on and venture into things we really haven't done before.
Even though the last one was called "Melody AM", this one is even more about melody."

The full tracklisting for "The Understanding" is as follows:

"Only This Moment"
"49 Percent"
"Follow My Ruin"
"Beautiful Day"
"What Else Is There?"
"Circuit Breaker"
"Alpha Male"
"Someone Like You"
"Dead To The World"
Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon
Depeche Mode are currently in Santa Barbara, California recording their first studio album since 2001's, 'Exciter', due for release this Autumn.
2004 ended on a high for Depeche Mode, generated largely by the success of their remix album, 'Depeche Mode Remixes 81-04' which sold over 1 million copies worldwide and produced the top 10 single, 'Enjoy The Silence' remixed by Mike Shinoda.
The new album is being co-produced by Depeche Mode and Ben Hillier, whose credits include Elbow's 'Cast Of Thousands' album, the current acclaimed Doves release, 'Some Cities' and Blur's classic, 'Think Tank'.
"It's a great feeling to be back together in the studio again and we are very excited about the new material", says Dave Gahan. "We are all feeling incredibly positive about the album. Ben Hillier has brought a whole new dynamic to the group which is quite inspiring."
Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon
On 25 April, Beggars Banquet are re-issuing the first three Gene Loves Jezebel albums in de-luxe, expanded editions.

Fronted by androgynous twins Jay and Michael Aston and featuring an evolving cast of musicians (including All About Eve's Julianne Regan), the early recordings had an experimental edge that has kept the music fresh today. The Jezebels didn't follow the shiny, neutered pop yearnings of their contemporaries but were always attuned to the darker side of romance and sex. Like most early 80's bands, they had been weened on 'Glam rock', but it was the underground that was receptive to their punk-funk undertones and vision. They're a reminder of a time when musical explorations were encouraged, indie was actually alternative, maverick wasn't marketed and Gene Loves Jezebel just might have been contenders.

Long unavailable (even on CD), these editions are mid price, double CD sets which feature all the recordings released between 1982 and 1986. Disc one of each set is the original UK album remastered from studio analog tapes and disc two collects singles, mixes, rareties and unreleased tracks. As expected from a Beggars Banquet re-issue, the packaging is comprehensive, with full track details, lyrics, unseen photos and new sleeve notes.
Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon
Former Smashing Pumpkins and Zwan frontman Billy Corgan has announced details of his debut album.

Titled "THEFUTUREEMBRACE", the 11-track set will be released on June 21st and will include a cover duet of the Bee Gees' "To Love Somebody" with The Cure's Robert Smith.

Speaking to Rolling Stone magazine, Corgan said the record would mark a departure with the music of his past.
He said: "It's guitar-driven and loud, but not aggressive. The videos, music and tour will be really new and different. No one will accuse me of sitting on my past."
Of the duet with Smith, he added: "The Cure is one of my favorite bands of all time. Robert is a good friend of mine, so it's a dream come true. That song's sort of a gem that not everyone will know."

The full tracklisting for "THEFUTUREEMBRACE" is as follows:

"All Things Change"
"Mina Loy (M.O.H.)"
"To Love Somebody"
"Now (And Then)"
"I'm Ready"
"Walking Shade"
"Sorrows (in blue)"
"Pretty, pretty STAR"

While working on the album, Corgan also wrote a volume of poetry, "Blinking With Fists", which reached the New York Times' best-seller list.

"THEFUTUREEMBRACE" will be preceded by a single, "Walking Shade", with a world tour planned for July.
Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon


                                             Spam Control


TinyPortal © 2005-2018