Login  |  Register


Donna Summer’s classic self-titled album from 1982 is to receive a 40th anniversary reissue.

Produced by the great Quincy Jones, Donna Summer features a veritable ‘Who’s Who’ of the music industry, from the album’s lead single Love Is In Control (Finger On The Trigger), written by Rod Temperton and Quincy Jones, to the All-Star Chorus on the Jon & Vangelis written State Of Independence which includes Lionel Richie, Dionne Warwick, Dianna Ross, Michael Jackson, Brenda Russell, Christopher Cross, Dyan Cannon, James Ingram, Kenny Loggins, Patti Austin, Michael McDonald and Stevie Wonder.

The album also features the Bruce Springsteen-penned and performed Protection and (If It) Hurts Just A Little.

The album’s second single, State Of Independence, which was a much bigger hit in Europe than in the US, has gone on to be one of Donna Summer’s most enduring tracks. 
In 1995, Brian Eno described it as one of the high points of 20th century art, and it is the most streamed track from the album by a margin of over 10 million.

This CD format of this special 40th Anniversary Edition is packaged in an A5 Mediabook, which also contains 7” single versions of the singles, a non-album ‘b’-side, the 12” Dance Mix of Love Is In Control…. and a newly authored 8,000-word essay, with a foreword by Donna’s husband Bruce Sudano, by noted US writer Christian John Wikane, featuring new and his archive interviews conducted with David Foster, Phillip Ingram, Le Flex, Steve Lukather, Bill Meyers, Richard Page, Greg Phillinganes, Bruce Roberts, Brenda Russell, Dionne Warwick, and the late James Ingram.

To celebrate the album’s 40th Anniversary, the standout album track Mystery Of Love has been given a contemporary twist by producer Le Flex.

The album will be released on 4 November.

Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon

Comments *



                                             Spam Control


TinyPortal © 2005-2018