Login  |  Register


Classic Singles

Classic Albums

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 ... 676


Eden (1984) - Deluxe Vinyl Reissue.
Remastered at Abbey Road.
Out September 17.
Pre-order now.

Everything But The Girl's best-selling debut album, 'Eden' is the latest re-release from the duo to benefit from half-speed remastering at Abbey Road Studios by Miles Showell, and a fresh 180gm vinyl pressing. 

Originally released in May 1984, the album spent almost six months on the official UK album chart peaking at number 14 and spawned the UK Top 40 hit, Each and Every One. The label wanted further singles but the duo preferred the album to grow by word of mouth. 'Eden' achieved gold album status in the UK and has gone on to sell more than 500,000 copies worldwide.

Ben Watt and Tracey Thorn met at the University of Hull in 1981. They formed Everything But The Girl initially as a side-project, as both had already established themselves on the UK independent music scene as teenagers  - Tracey with her lo-fi minimal girl group, Marine Girls; Ben as a young guitarist and singer-songwriter, collaborating with alt-folk icon Robert Wyatt on his debut EP. 

In the summer of 1983 the pair - having each released debut solo albums - decided to pool their new songs for 'Eden'. It was recorded with producer Robin Millar (chosen for his work with Weekend and The Pale Fountains) at his Power Plant Studios in Willesden, North West London.

"All the songs were written on guitar in Hull in early 1983. We were living in one room with a shared kitchen on Pearson Park," recalls Tracey. "Power Plant seemed very glamorous by comparison. Sade was recording downstairs. We were upstairs."

The sessions featured a band handpicked by Ben and Tracey: Working Week's Simon Booth on second guitar, This Heat’s Charles Hayward on drums, and South American musicians Chucho Merchan (double bass) and Bosco D’Oliveira (percussion) plus a clutch of top horn players from the English jazz scene. The line-up was part friends from London, part musicians Ben admired from trips to the Bull's Head jazz room with his dad when growing up, in particular Peter King (alto sax).

"We were intent on being non-rock," says Ben. "No clichés. No snare drums, no solid body electric guitars or electric bass. We wanted soft horns, Gretsch guitars, no fuss, a lightness of touch. We were into pop, latin, torch songs, sharp lyrics."

The album was released on the newly-formed imprint Blanco Y Negro (co-run by Mike Alway and Rough Trade's Geoff Travis) through Warner, and signalled Everything But The Girl’s move from an independent - Cherry Red - to a major label. 

Eden's artwork - by Marine Girls band member Jane Fox - was delivered as a three-dimensional collage of hand-drawn art and torn paper. Warner (who were marketing and distributing the record) didn’t really know what to do with it. The original version didn’t even have the name of the band on it. In the end it was photographed and printed on ‘reverse-board stock’ - unusual for a major release at the time.

Eden (2021 Vinyl Reissue) is released on 17 September 2021 on Buzzin' Fly Records, under exclusive license to Chrysalis Recordings.


Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon

Universal and Liberator

Remastered Vinyl LPs

Image of the Universal Vinyl LP

For the first time since their original release, Universal and Liberator are now available on 180g black vinyl.


Both albums have been remastered at the iconic Abbey Road studios and can be ordered here:

Liberator Vinyl LP

Liberator was first released in 1993, and features singles ‘Stand Above Me’ and ‘Dream Of Me’ as well as a cover version of the Velvet Underground’s 1967 track, ‘Sunday Morning’. Universal also had chart success with Top 20 single ‘Walking On The Milky Way’ with its original release in 1996. 

Architecture & More

UK Arena Tour 2021

Get tickets

OMD will embark on their ‘Architecture and More’ UK Arena Tour this November, which will see the band perform songs from ‘Architecture & Morality’, plus many more from their legendary back catalogue. The tour will stop off at London’s Eventim Apollo, as well as two hometown shows at the Liverpool Empire and Olympia.

Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon


Click on the artwork to pre-save, stream or purchase.
Coastal feat. Oblique

Out 3rd August 2021
Maxx Parker feat. Natalie Gray
Out 13th August 2021
Pure Synthpop, Vol. 2
Various Artists
Out 17th August 2021
Young Empress
Out 20th August 2021
Pure Synthwave, Vol. 4
Various Artists
Out 24th August 2021
Back To You
Bunny X
Out 27th August 2021
The Waves
Out 31st August 2021
View this email in your browser



Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon
Jewel case CD Remix EP, includes the 12” Extended Mix
and brilliant remixes by Alka, Zinqmind, Daybreakers, Unterberg,
Ai Accident, LorD and Master, People Theatre, and Hollowlove

Release Date: August 13

Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon

Coastal are Aaron Hetherington and Jonathan Fletcher. Hailing from Leeds in the United Kingdom, the duo’s journey has taken them from fronting a Hardcore inspired metal band to now taking a leap into the 80s synthwave scene. 

Opening softly, Kyoto is soaked with layer upon layer of late night ambience. The Leeds based duo invited fellow Aztec Records artist Oblique to provide guest vocals to the track. The gentle vocals merge perfectly and together tell the story of living your life in the moment, full of spontaneous adventure, but doing it all with someone you love. 

Featuring a slick saxophone section, Kyoto paints an atmospheric landscape of serene, breathtaking mountains that offer brief escapism from the busy, non-stop lives everyone has. 

Kyoto is Coastal’s third entry into the Synthwave scene, part of their full length debut album titled ‘Memories’ due for release in the back end of 2021.  

Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 ... 676


                                             Spam Control


TinyPortal © 2005-2018