Login  |  Register


Pages: 1 ... 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 ... 52

The soundtrack to Julien Temple’s 1986 film Absolute Beginnerswhich featured memorable contributions from a number of artists including David BowieRay DaviesThe Style Council and Sade, will be reissued in July and will appear on CD in its entirety for the first time.

David Bowie’s title track (here in its full eight minute version) was an enormous hit in 1986, reaching number two in the UK of March of that year and providing the filmmakers with valuable publicity for what became a rather ill-fated project.

Producers Clive Langer and Alan Winstanley produced the album, working with not only the pop stars of the day (including Eighth Wonder and Smiley Culture) but also legendary jazz arranger Gil Evans.

The album features a number of tracks unavailable elsewhere. David Bowie contributed three numbers, none of which appeared on any of his studio albums and likewise Sade’s ‘Killer Blow’ can only be found on the soundtrack. The full version of The Style Council’s ‘Have You Ever Had It Blue’ also features and in edited form was a top 20 UK hit.

Beyond these pop tracks, Absolute Beginners includes an eight-minute Jerry Dammers jazz instrumental called ‘Riot City’, ‘Ted Ain’t Dead’ by Tenpole Tudor and plenty of instrumentals from Gil Evans including ‘Absolute Beginners (Refrain)’ which closes the album.

Back in the day, most of side four of the 2LP vinyl never made it to CD, but this 2020 reissue offers Absolute Beginners as a 2CD set and comes with a 24-page booklet which features track-by-track analysis with annotations from a few key players, such as Clive Langer, Mick Talbot etc.

Absolute Beginners will be released on 2CD and 2LP vinyl on 17 July 2020 via UMC/Virgin EMI.

Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon
Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon

New Order‘s Gillian Gilbert and Stephen Morris 1993 debut 'The Other Two & You' is reissued on CD with six extra tracks.

01. Tasty Fish 
02. The Greatest Thing 
03. Selfish 
04. Movin' On 
05. Ninth Configuration 
06. Feel This Love 
07. Spirit Level 
08. Night Voice 
09. Innocence 
10. Loved It (The New Factory) 
11. Tasty Fish (Pascal Mix 12'') 
12. Selfish (That Pop Mix) 
13. The Greatest Thing (Pascal Mix) 
14. Movin' On (Moby Mix) 
15. Tasty Fish (Almond Slice Mix) 
16. Selfish (Junior Style Dub)

Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon

Dead Or Alive's 1990 album Fan The Flame (Part 1) is issued as a standalone vinyl record for the first time in May.

The album was only ever issued in Japan but formed part of the content of Demon Music's Sophisticated Boom Box MMXVI box set in 2016.

This followed 1988's Nude and was the band's fifth studio album. It was only ever released on CD in Japan where it reached #27. The singles were 'Your Sweetness (Is Your Weakness)', 'Unhappy Birthday' and 'Gone 2 Long', all of which reached the top 20 in Japan.

The record features contributions from UK pop band Londonbeat, the London Community Gospel Choir and Billy Currie.

This new white vinyl pressing includes printed inner sleeve and will be released on 22 May 2020. Order your copy by clicking here now!

Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon

20 Mar 2020 - Robyn - Robyn (2LP)

'Robyn' was released in 2005 on Konichiwa Records but it never came out on vinyl. They are now reissuing it as a Double LP on 180grm coloured vinyl for Record Store Day with bonus tracks 'Jack You Off' and 'Dream On' included.

Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon
Pages: 1 ... 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 ... 52


                                             Spam Control


TinyPortal © 2005-2018