Login  |  Register


Classic Singles

Classic Albums

SMASH HITS MAGAZINE's output between 1978 and 1985 is to be celebrated at a new London club??'Smash Hits 7'.
'Smash Hits 7' will be??devoted to the music covered during the magazine's first seven years.

So promising new wave, electro and pop music from the heavyweights of the scene alonside 'a handful of one-hit wonders that time forgot'.

The first night of the club will be on Spetember 22nd and will take place at Nambucca on the Holloway Road between 7pm and midnight.
Admission is free and a percentage of bar takings will go to Save The Children.

Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon

18 Aug 2005 - More 80's News

MORRISSEY has announced that he will start work on his new album in September. The former SMITHS frontman will begin work on the album, the follow-up to him million-selling 2004 album 'You Are The Quarry' in Rome.

will release a new single, 'Celice', on October 4th and will follow that with their new studio album - currently untitled - on November 7th.

THE HUMAN LEAGUE have released the tracklisting of their forthcoming 'Original Remixes' album which will be released on September 26th. The fourteen-track album will feature mixes taken from the band's original 12" singles, many of them on CD for the first time.

CYNDI LAUPER's new album is scheduled for a November 8th release. The currently untitled record will feature acoustic reworkings of nine classic Cyndi Lauper tracks alongside three new songs.

RICK ASTLEY will release a new album on October 17th. The thirteen- track album, entitled 'Portrait', features covers of some of Astley's favourite songs including tracks made famous by Matt Monro, Perry Como and The Carpenters and will be followed by a full UK tour in November.

ERASURE singer ANDY BELL will perform a selection of Erasure hits at a special BBC Radio 2 event in Blackpool on September 2nd. VINCE CLARKE is unable to appear so Andy Bell will be joined by remix and production duo Manhattan Clique with whom he is currently finishing work on his debut solo album 'Electric Blue'.

BANANARAMA will support dance act Scissor Sisters at a one-off charity show in London tonight. The show will take place at The Forum in Kentish Town with proceeds being divided between The Elton John AIDS Foundation and the Joe Strummer Foundation for New Music.

KIM CARNES, best known for her classic hit 'Bette Davis Eyes', will release a new album 'Chasin' Wild Trains' on September 16th.

BAUHAUS have announced a string of dates for later this year. The band who recently reunited for the US Coachella Festival have announced shows in Mexico, Canada and the USA.

MAI TAI, the Dutch trio best known for their classic hit 'History', release a new single 'Don't Forget To Live' in their native Netherlands this week and will be touring the country extensively before releasing the single and forthcoming new album internationally.

have announced the release of a new single 'Stormy Weather', the first release from their forthcoming new album 'Siberia' will be out on September 5th. The band have also lined up a number of shows to support the release including just-released US and European dates for November and December and a UK show at Liverpool's Carling Academy on December 16th.

Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon
To:?? Sony Japan

To whom it may concern:

We are writing you regarding the Dead or Alive 12" Collection that was to have been released by Sony Japan recently. It has come to our attention that Sony may be considering, if not delaying the collection's release, then cancelling it altogether. Exact information has been difficult to come by, as we have read and heard several different versions of Sony's plans for this release.

As fans of Dead or Alive, we understand that compilations of Dead or Alive's 7" singles, in various mixes and guises, are already available, but up until the announcement of the 12" Collection release, there had been a frustrating lack of access to Dead or Alive's original 12" remix releases, other than through often exploitative online sellers commanding ridiculously inflated prices for the original vinyl releases, or worse, for bootlegged, pirated or falsely advertised merchandise.

That Dead or Alive fans have been willing to make what amount to financial sacrifices to obtain these remixes, in whatever form, demonstrates that there is, therefore, a considerable market -- amongst fans, collectors and, yes, the simply nostalgic -- for a legitimate, band-approved collection of the *original* Dead or Alive 12" remixes.

We urge you to consider following through with your original plans to release the 12" Collection, and we, the fans of Dead or Alive, the registered users and moderators of the Right Stuff, the official website for Dead or Alive, thank you in advance for your time and consideration.

Click the artwork to sign the petition:


Also visit:
Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon

Katie Melua
Piece By Piece

Release date

'Piece By Piece' heralds the return of Katie Melua to the world stage since her multi-platinum debut album 'Don't Call Of The Search'.

It is clear that Katie has come a long way in the two years since her first album was released. Back then, she was a student taking her very first steps. On the second album, it is evident that she has travelled and grown.

"She has always been a self-assured singer and performer, but the wealth of live touring that she has done both in small clubs and headlining to up to 10,000 people has given her a maturity which I can only see continuing. It is a pure accident of symmetry that she has written four and a half of the tracks and I have written four and a half of the tracks (one being a co-write between us), and the other quarter of the album is made up of three versions of great songs that we just wanted to do". Mike Batt

Katie Melua's next single: Nine Million Bicycles (19-09-2005)


Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon

Top 20 August 17, 2005
TW / LW / WC Artist - Song
01 / (02) / (3) Alcazar - Start The Fire
02 / (01) / (3) 4Hero - Les Fleurs
03 / (03) / (3) Loverush UK & Marc Almond - Perfect Honey
04 / (04) / (3) Gwen Stefani - Hollaback Girl
05 / (08) / (3) Bodies Without Organs - Open Door
06 / (07) / (3) Joss Stone - Don't Cha Wanna Ride
07 / (10) / (3) Marc Almond - Delirious
08 / (09) / (3) Bananarama - Move In My Direction
09 / (06) / (3) Erasure - Here I Go Impossible Again
10 / (05) / (3) Garbage - Sex Is Not The Enemy
11 / (13) / (3) Inaya Day - Nasty Girl
12 / (16) / (2) Robyn - Who's That Girl?
13 / (15) / (3) Paola E Chiara - Fatalitá
14 / (14) / (3) Saint Etienne - Side Streets
15 / (12) / (3) The Ark - Clamour For Glamour
16 / (17) / (3) Akcent - Kylie
17 / (11) / (3) Kent - Palace & Main
18 / (---) / (1) Daniel Powter - Bad Day
19 / (---) / (1) Audio Bullys & Nancy Sinatra - Shot You Down
20 / (18) / (3) Kent - Max 500
Tips: Pussycat Dolls - Don't Cha
Texas - Getaway

You're most welcome to email suggestions for this chart to: Contact_form

Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon


                                             Spam Control


TinyPortal © 2005-2018