Login  |  Register


Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 ... 170

Demon Music are happy to present Electribe 101 - Electribal Memories (4CD). This stunning 4CD extended version in deluxe packaging features crucial remixes, extended versions, radio edits and original band demos. The deluxe was compiled by club culture historian Bill Brewster. Both formats come with new sleeve notes by Billie Ray Martin, a rapturous essay by Pete Paphides and original photography from the era.

Formed when Hamburg-born / London-based, sometimes S’ Express member Billie Ray Martin hooked up with four musician / producers from Birmingham, Electribe 101 instantly hit upon a sound heavily influenced by the de rigueur deep house sounds of Chicago and Detroit but with a distinctive European twist. With Billie Ray Martin up front, with a voice like ice on fire and looking as if she’d stepped forward in time from a circa-1966 Mary Quant catwalk, the band were instantly snapped up by Mercury Records, and taken under the wing of Pet Shop Boys manager Tom Watkins.

The band released five singles in the UK, and all featured on their debut album ‘Electribal Memories’: ‘Tell Me When The Fever Ended’, ‘Talking With Myself’, ‘You’re Walking’, ‘Lipstick On My Lover’ and an incredible cover of Odyssey’s deep soul classic ‘Inside Out’. Remixes came courtesy of such electronic luminaries as Frankie Knuckles, Larry “Mr Fingers” Heard and Mantronix. When the album arrived in 1990, it was an instant hit with critics – immaculately produced, poised, luxurious and soulful, it was difficult to believe it was a debut record at all.

After ‘Electribal Memories’, Electribe 101 called it a day. Since then, the album’s reputation has grown in stature and many of its’ singles’ attendant remixes have become sought-after rarities. The cultural earthquake prompted by the late-1980s arrival on these shores of house, acid and rave prompted many a legendary club night and a generation of superstar DJ / producers. While there were a myriad of great club tracks produced in that heady period between 1988-1991, classic albums from the scene were rather more of a rarity. One towering exception was the debut by Electribe 101

  1. Talking With Myself (Original Band 12" Version) (7:02)
  2. Lipstick On My Lover (6:22)
  3. You're Walking (Peeping Tom Mix) (6:03)
  4. Inside Out (6:00)
  5. Diamond Dove (7:51)
  6. Heading For The Night (4:09)
  7. Tell Me When The Fever Ended (Full Length Version) (7.06)
  8. Talking With Myself (Lambada Version) (7:06)
  9. Electribal Memories (10:36)
  10. Tell Me When The Fever Ended (7") (3.55)
  11. Talking With Myself (Frankie Knuckles 7” Mix) (3.38)
  12. You're Walking (Peeping Tom 7" Mix) (3.55)
  13. Inside Out (Pop Mix) (4.14)
  1. Talking With Myself (8-Track Demo) (7:00)
  2. The Spell (8-track demo) (4:38)
  3. Talking With Myself (Deep Dream Mix) (8:07)
  4. Lipstick On My Lover (1989 12” Mix) (8:30)
  5. Diamond Dove (1989 12” 12" Mix) (7:36)
  6. Tell Me When the Fever Ended (12”) (7:25)
  7. Talking With Myself (Frankie Knuckles 12-inch Mix) (6:56)
  8. You’re Walking (Corporate Def Mix) (8:18)
  9. Inside Out (Anti-Pop Mix) (7:51)
  10. Heading For The Night (Night Over Europe) (8:20)
  1. Talking with Myself (Opium Mix) (6:56)
  2. Tell Me When The Fever Ended (Larry Heard After Dark Mix) (8:18)
  3. You’re Walking (Azmafez Mix) (5:03)
  4. Heading For The Night (Classic Club Mix) (6:40)
  5. Talking With Myself (Jazzy Piano Mix) (7:11)
  6. You’re Walking (Ambient Groove Mix) (6:06)
  7. Talking With Myself (Brixton Club Mix Master) (8.34)
  8. Mummy I’m Sick, I’m Underwater (4:19)
  9. Talking With Myself (Larry Heard After Dark Dub) (6:43)
  10. You're Walking (Warped Truth Mix) (8:16)
  11. Talking With Myself (Next Big Thing Mix) (7:21)

  1. Talking With Myself (Frankie Knuckles Edit) (4:13)
  2. Diamond Dove (7'')
  3. Lipstick On My Lover (7'')
  4. Talking With Myself (Larry Heard After Dark Mix) (7:16)
  5. Heading For The Night (Pianoppella) (4:27)
  6. Inside Out (MCM Mix) (6:39)
  7. Talking With Myself (Frankie’s Lovely Dub) (7:05)
  8. Tell Me When the Fever Ended (Yankee Mix) (5:17)
  9. Talking With Myself (American Promo Anabolic Steroid Mix) (6:53)
  10. Tell Me When the Fever Ended (Raggamix) (5:07)
  11. Inside Out (Mantronix Mix 2) (6:19)
  12. You’re Walking (Hip Hop Mix) (6:26)
  13. Non-Doctor (Demo) (4:46)
  14. That’s How Strong My Love Is (Demo) (6:58)

Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon

At1980 are back with another immense release that may be there best yet. Featuring the melodically additive anthems "Back to Me" and "Pieces of Me", Forget to Remember is album that promises to keep you pressing that replay button and belting your heart out. This is a must listen for all synth lovers and AOR enthusiasts. Enjoy.

Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon

Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon

These songs will not be included in the digital release of the 4 CD deluxe re-issue of Electribal Memories, so they are presented here as a separate EP. All tracks recorded at Elephant House, Birmingham, UK.

Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon

NINA and RADIO WOLF team up to create two fiery back-to-back singles.

Friday, March 8th

'MY DARK' romanticises the dark, even cruel desire to unleash an unforgiving spirit on a lover. Lyrics like, "Heavy...Burn...Ignite...My cruel heart...Sweet dreams, I'll be your nightmare" are delivered with ruthless assurance by NINA. Her vocal verve playfully unveils moments of deadpan, allure, and erupting lust. Radio Wolf's electrifying synths, overdriven guitar riffs with reverb and experimental SFX all fuse to create an expansive sonic atmosphere for NINA's restless voice to haunt.

Friday, March 15th

'BLUESBREAKER' ignites a fiery fusion of electro, rock and blues. The raunchy lyrics and erotic vocal delivery by NINA, "Killer in a nightdress...Burn me up...Cure me of the bad...Riding waves of fire...Night lust", are thematically accented by RADIO WOLF's meaty, memorable guitar hooks, throbbing beat, and spacey electronic SFX, including even a ghostly blues harmonica. Out there!


Share on Facebook!Share on Twitter!g+StumbleUpon
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 ... 170


                                             Spam Control


TinyPortal © 2005-2018